Johnny Weir was at Crunchyroll Expo again this year, and again had his own panel (thread from the panel here), and probably the most important take away here is that the rumors from a few months ago were true and that he is indeed involved in the Yoi movie, Ice Adolescence, and he’s even met Kubo herself. Also, considering that he talked about “big people being involved”, I think we can assume that the rumors about Jeffrey Buttle creating something for the movie (most likely choreography) were also true.
That being said, keep in mind Johnny probably only did the choreo/voice work for the movie, he’s not closely involved with the project so his release date estimations are, well, just that – estimations. It’ll likely be the animation that will take the longest and it’s impossible to say how long that may take – the Stammi Vicino scene from episode 1 apparently took them 3 months to animate, and we can probably expect a similar level of quality here. The main questions is whether their time/resource management has improved since 2016, but again, that’s impossible to say for now. All we know is that the movie is supposed to come out in 2019, but the lack of a specific date is probably proof that they simply aren’t close enough to the finish line yet to commit and say “Yes, this will come out on this day in perfect cinematic quality that you would expect.” As we near closer to 2019, more news will come and I think the release date will soon become apparent. For now, all we have is patience and Johnny’s justified hype.
coffee: always frantic, has a crammed schedule, never stops consuming caffeine, will agree to go to a party even if they have a six a.m. shift the next day
bujo: organized, likes to makes lists and keep track of things, plans outfit the night before, stresses when they get a grade less than a B
oops: stopped caring in the third grade, somehow manages to get okay grades, never studies, kind of lazy, would eat Waffle House at 3 in the morning
sweatshirt: is trying as hard as they possibly can, has to study and work hard for their grades, constantly stressing, has social anxiety, tries to do every extra curricular under the sun
aesthetique: probably vegetarian or vegan, has a “mom jean” 80′s aesthetic, glorifies local cafes, wants to live in Europe, always wants to cut their hair
gothique: black clothes only, still stans my chemical romance, uses sarcasm as a defense mechanism, desperately wants some tattoos, likes the black lipstick look but too shy to do it
REMEMBER HOW VIKTOR SKATES STAY CLOSE TO ME TO YUURI IN THE ABSOLUTE FIRST SCENE
AND THEN HE GETS THIS SMILE ON HIS FACE
THIS IS THE SOFTEST VIKTOR
especially when you consider how sad he looks while skating the same program at Worlds, because although it might be an artistic choice I also think it’s meant to highlight the deep longing Viktor feels for someone to be close to
NOT ONLY DOES HE GET TO PAIR SKATE THIS PROGRAM WITH THE LOVE OF HIS LIFE HE ALSO FINALLY GETS TO PERFORM IT KNOWING THAT HE’S NOT ALONE ANYMORE BECAUSE YUURI WILL NEVER LEAVE HIM
this smile saved my life
I just had a thought: what if Victor performed this for Yuuri then after that shot of Yuuri being determined, he gets onto the ice with Victor to skate with him and that’s the origin of the duetto