I’m living so much for this new art and THEN THIS GOODNESS WITH THE PODIUM FAMILY PURE AND HAPPY AND VIKTOR BEING GAY AND HAVING TO TOUCH YUURI AS ALWAYS
Since I felt like continuing the burlesque AU (and apparently some people asked XD), know that Viktor later visits Eros in his boudoir and that, unfortunately, nothing of note happens. For now.
(Russian Red is one of MAC’s legendary red lipstick triumvirate besides Ruby Woo and Lady Danger. The stuff Yuuri has is from my own red lipstick collection; I own a Ruby Woo but no Russian Red in fact ;;;)
Okay so I see a characterisation I totally disagree with incredibly often, and that’s the fact that Yuuri, being stereotypically Japanese, is uncomfortable with PDA. And whilst I agree that this headcanon is kind of cute and allows for some great extra!Viktor content, I think it’s fundamentally wrong.
Yes this is the official art that triggered this in my mind. Just look how comfortable Yuuri is here, whilst essentially being cuddled by Viktor out in the open.
Look at him literally launching himself into Viktor’s arms.
That one time Yuuri declared his love for Viktor on television
He literally initiated this on international television
And let us not forget this kiss which he had no problem with
Again, yanking Viktor in by the tie literally because he felt possessive
Literally smiling at Viktor as he does this
You can even see people react to the PDA in this scene
There is no way you could call Yuuri passive in this moment
Let us not forget Yuuri literally grinding on Viktor
And, sober, straddling Viktor in public
Honestly, there is no real canon evidence in my mind to suggest Yuuri is uncomfortable with displays of affection. He either lets Viktor do it whilst making no effort to stop him (even if he is shown to look slightly embarrassed), or is the one initiating PDA. I think it could even be argued that Yuuri does it more than Viktor.
If this is Yuuri now, just imagine what he could be like a year or two on. Even as far as actually kissing in public, I don’t think I could call OOC. I feel like it’s the act itself Yuuri might be shy about, rather than if people are watching or not. In fact, I believe possessiveness is entirely in his personality.
tl;dr Yuuri Katsuki is grossly affectionate in public and should probably learn some decency
they were wearing their rings for like two and a half episodes and there were over THIRTY ring flares like… season two is gonna be fucking absurd….. im predicting one THOUSAND ring flares